I think the best thing about having our classroom pet is that it brings other children into the classroom.   I have met so many kids across grade level that have just come in to say hi and take a look at Cornelius.   That is cool.   It's been a busy week.   Curriculum Night was Tuesday and I spent a good part of last weekend getting ready for the parents as well as trying to figure out how to change my desks so that I could keep the noise level down.   ( I did change them but I"m not sure it made a difference)  I think I just have a group of very chatty kids and I'm ok with that.  Today they amazed me during our Math Workshop.  All of them were working in groups doing some really cool activities.  I saw letters, dragonflies and a beautiful peach made from pattern blocks.  I saw kids building a city with unifix cubes and I saw a group of girls set out to make a very long snake from unifix cubes.   Eventually the snake spilled out into the hall and  most of the kids started measuring it with their own feet.   It was long - our best estimate was that it was somewhere between 60 and 80 feet. :)  But remember they have very small feet.  Small feet and Huge Hearts.    



Leave a Reply.